History of the Press

New Binary Press was founded in 2012 by James O’Sullivan.

The imprint’s first publication was Graham Allen’s born-digital poem, Holes, shortly followed by The New Binary Press Anthology of Poetry: Volume I. New Binary Press has published a number of critically-acclaimed titles, including The Blocks (Karl Parkinson 2016) and The One That Got Away (Graham Allen 2015).

New Binary Press was launched at the City Library, Cork, on April 5th, 2013. Leanne O’Sullivan, one of Ireland’s most accomplished poets, was guest reader on the night. Four days later, New Binary Press held a Dublin launch and poetry reading at The Teachers’ Club, Parnell Square.

Irish poet Matthew Geden has highlighted the role which New Binary Press plays within Ireland’s literary community: “…the press has published books by a number of new and interesting writers who are for one reason or another outside the current mainstream of Irish literature. Such projects are vital at a time when the poetry world here has been dominated by only a handful of presses and individuals. The emergence of new voices owes much to small publishers like New Binary and others…”.[1] Writing in Éire-Ireland, literary scholar Dr Kenneth Keating argues that New Binary Press is one of the first Irish publishers to “explicitly [cross] the division between online and print publishing in Irish poetry in a more progressive fashion”.[2]

[1] Geden, Matthew (2018). “On Bindweed, The Yellow House and Courting Katie: Matthew Geden reviews new collections by Mark Roper, William Wall and James O’Sullivan”. Southword (33).
[2] Keating, Kenneth (2017-08-24). “Irish Poetry Publishing Online”. Éire-Ireland 52.1: 321–336. doi:10.1353/eir.2017.0015.

Publication History

Click here for a complete record of New Binary Press publications.


novelling (Will Luers, Hazel Smith, Roger Dean), Winner of the Robert Coover Award for a Work of Electronic Literature, 2018
The One That Got Away 
(Graham Allen), Shortlisted, Shine/Strong Award 2015 
Unexplained Fevers
(Jeannine Hall Gailey), Second Place, SFPA Elgin Award 2014

Legal Deposit

All New Binary Press publications are deposited at the following institutions:

The National Library of Ireland, Dublin
Trinity College Library, Dublin
The British Library, Boston Spa
The Bodleian Library, Oxford
Cambridge University Library
The National Library of Scotland, Edinburgh
The National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth
The Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.