Graham Allen shortlisted for the Shine/Strong Award

Graham Allen shortlisted for the Shine/Strong Award

New Binary Press is delighted to announce that Graham Allen’s The One That Got Away has been shortlisted for the Shine/Strong Award for Best First Collection. Judged by Daljit Nagra, the Shine/Strong Award is presented annually to the author of the best first collection of poems published by an Irish poet in the previous year.

Recent recipients include Nerys Williams, Dave Lordan, Peadar Ó hUallaigh, Grace Wells, Michelle O’Sullivan, and Tara Bergin. The Shine/Strong Award is presented in memory of Rupert and Eithne Strong and is made possible by the generous support of Shine, the national organisation dedicated to upholding the rights and addressing the needs of all those affected by mental ill health. The Award will be presented at the Mountains to Sea dlr Book Festival on Sunday 22nd March 2015. Gathering Evidence (Caoilinn Hughes, Carcanet), Other Places (Jean Kavanagh, Salmon Poetry), and Liffey Swim (Jessica Traynor, Dedalus Press) are the other shortlisted collections.

The unpublished manuscript for The One that Got Away was shortlisted for The Crashaw Prize in 2012, and the title poem won the Listowel Single Poetry Prize in 2010.

Further details can be found in the programme for the event, listed on the Mountains to Sea website (see page 29).

The One That Got Away is available now from New Binary Press, as well as through iBooks for iPad.